The Club

In the early 90's Noel and Liam Kennedy, John Coleman, Brendan O'Connor, Tom Hogan, John Conmy and Ann O'Brien were very much to the forefront in running the Club.

In 1995 under the chairmanship of Neilie Hogan, the Club at committee level was restructured, bringing in some more dedicated hard-working people to assist with running all aspects of the Club. These people ran the Club, namely, Jimmy O'Sullivan, J.J Riordan, Anne O'Brien, Jonny Daly, Denis Kelly, Michelle Meehan, Joe Lynch, Mary Lynch, John Coleman, Grainne Coleman, Mike Gallagher, Kenny Hogan, Rob Collins, Brian Tierney, Mike Walsh, John Lyons, Barry Riordan, Robert White, Paul Lynch, Kathleen Lynch, Michael McNamara, Brian Coleman and Jimmy Dollery, Club President.

If the Club were busy on the pitch they were equally so off the pitch. The Club purchased a 17-acre site at Holycross in 1996. Subsequently, three quality playing pitches were developed and were opened for the start of the current playing season and have received widespread public acclaim. A stand and three dressing rooms have also been erected. The total cost of these successful projects was in the region of IR£140,000. So not alone is the game of soccer just sport, even at this level it is a business.

The development of our ground at Holycross were publicly recognised by the AIB, Nationwide Better Ireland Awards 1998 when Rathkeale AFC were listed as local winners receiving a certificate and cheque for IR£1,000.

It must be acknowledged that Rathkeale Soccer Club has received tremedous support from both the business community and the general public since its inception and without this generous support, the Club couldn't have the progress and success that it has to date achieved.

On the 28th September 1998 a FAS scheme started and this should be a major assistance in furthering the ambition of Rathkeale A.F.C.