League of Honours

In the playing season 1976/77 the playing dreams of the Club were realised when the Desmond League title was won. For many in Rathkeale it was akin to winning the Lotto! For years, people like John White, Noel White, Liam Woulfe, Frank Lynch, Noel Hartnett, Pa Sheahan, Mike Dunne, Sean Hennessy, Tommy Glenny, Pat Hayes, Seamus Tierney, Liam & Anthony Woulfe, Tom Steele, Paddy & John Coleman and others worked tirelessly and unselfishly for this great day.

The team was managed by Pa Sheehan and captained by the great Johnny Jones.

The full panel was as follows:

Johnny Jones, Mike Gallagher, Noel Hartnett, Turlough McDonnell, Pat Lavin, Timmy Mullane, Bill Chawke, Mike Gallagher, Edmund Dollery, Brendan Culhane, Frank Lynch, Mario Zoncado, James O'Grady, John Coleman and Mike Sullivan.

Rathkeale were now becoming a soccer stronghold in the Desmond League and in 1978/'79 they annexed the Desmond Cup with the following players:-

Denny Harnett, Noel Harnett, Don Gallagher, Tommy Mullane, Edmund Dollery, Eamon Daly, Johnny Jones, Mario Zoncado, Mike Sullivan, Seamus Doherty, Sean Harnett, John Coleman, Pat Neville, Sean O'Shea, Mike Meade, Frank Lynch, Sean O'Shea and John Sheahan.

At this time the Juniors were not the only Club side in the winning enclosure, as both schoolboys and youth levels were winning County titles on a consistent basis. The upside of this was that there was a constant stream of good quality ambitious players now avalable to play Junior football.